NORTHERN LEHIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT Reorganization Meeting Board Minutes

Slatington, PA December 3, 2001

<u>PURPOSE</u>	The annual Reorganization Meeting of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors was called to order by the President, Mr. Gary S. Fedorcha, at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, December 3, 2001 in the Board Room of the Slatington Elementary School.
ROLL CALL PRESENT DIRECTORS	Members present: Mr. Robert J. Cox, Mr. Bryan C. Dorshimer, Mrs. Jane J. Escott, Mrs. Lori H. Geronikos, Mrs. Sheryl A. Giles, Mr. Mathias J. Green, Jr., Mr. Jason M. Newhard, Mrs. Lynn C. Sechler, Mr. Gary S. Fedorcha (9)
	Members absent: None (0)
	Non-members present: Dr. Nicholas P. Sham, Mrs. Lynne B. Fedorcha, Mr. Christopher Iacobelli, Dr. Linda Marcincin, Mrs. Karen Nicholas, Mr. John Hrizuk, Mr. David Papay, Mr. Brian Geiger, Mr. Bernard Rockovich, Mr. Jeffrey Bachman, Atty. Charles Stopp (Solicitor), Mrs. Doneta J. Merkle
<u>VISITORS</u>	Approximately six visitors attended the meeting in addition to Sharon Minnich, reporter for <u>The Times News</u> .
Notice of Organization Meeting	The Board Secretary, Mrs. Lori H. Geronikos, acknowledged the fact that all Board members received the Notice of Organization Meeting, which was signed by the Board Secretary.
<u>ELECTION</u> TEMPORARY PRESIDENT	The Secretary requested a motion to open the floor for nominations for Temporary President of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors.
Nomination Temporary President	Mr. Fedorcha nominated Mrs. Lynn C. Sechler for Temporary President of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors. Mr. Newhard seconded the motion.
Close Nominations	Motion made by Mr. Green, with a second by Mr. Newhard, to close the nominations for Temporary President of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors.
	 YEA: Mr. Cox, Mr. Dorshimer, Mrs. Escott, Mrs. Geronikos, Mrs. Giles, Mr. Green, Mr. Newhard, Mrs. Sechler, Mr. Fedorcha (9) NAY: None (0)
	Mrs. Lynn C. Sechler was unanimously declared duly elected Temporary President of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors.
List of Legally Elected School Officials	The list of duly elected Board members and their terms of office were acknowledged by Temporary President, Mrs. Lynn C. Sechler.
ADMINIS- TRATION OF OATH	District Magistrate Edward Hartman administered the Oath of Office to School Board members. Robert J. Cox Bryan C. Dorshimer Jane J. Escott Gary S. Fedorcha Lauren A. Ganser Lori H. Geronikos Sheryl A. Giles Mathias J. Green, Jr.

<u>ELECTION</u> <u>OF</u> <u>PRESIDENT</u>	Mrs. Lynn C. Sechler, Temporary President, called for nominations for President of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors for a one-year term.
Nominations For President	Mr. Cox nominated Mr. Mathias J. Green, Jr. for President of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors for a one-year term. Mr. Dorshimer seconded his motion.
	Mrs. Geronikos nominated Mr. Gary S. Fedorcha for President of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors for a one-year term. Mrs. Escott seconded her motion.
Close Nominations	Motion made by Mr. Dorshimer, with a seconded by Mr. Cox that the nominations for President of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors be closed.
	 YEA: Mr. Cox, Mr. Dorshimer, Mrs. Escott, Mrs. Lauren A. Ganser, Mrs. Geronikos, Mrs. Giles, Mr. Green, Mr. Newhard, Mr. Fedorcha (9) NAY: None (0)
Vote On New Board President	Vote on nomination of Mr. Gary S. Fedorcha and Mr. Mathias J. Green, Jr. as President of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors for a one-year term.
	ROLL CALL: Mr. Dorshimer for Mr. Green, Mrs. Escott for Mr. Fedorcha, Mrs. Geronikos for Mr. Fedorcha, Mrs. Giles for Mr. Fedorcha, Mr. Green for Mr. Green, Mr. Newhard for Mr. Green, Mr. Fedorcha for Mr. Fedorcha, Mr. Cox for Mr. Green, Mrs. Ganser for Mr. Fedorcha
Gary S. Fedorcha - Board Pres.	By a vote of five yeas for Mr. Gary S. Fedorcha and four yeas for Mr. Mathias J. Green, Jr., Mr. Gary S. Fedorcha was declared duly elected President of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors for a one-year term.
RESIGNATION LORI H. GERONIKOS AS BOARD SECRETARY	Mrs. Lori H. Geronikos tendered her resignation as Secretary of the Northern Lehigh Board of School School Directors. Mr. Green made a motion to duly accept her resignation as Board Secretary. Mr. Newhard seconded his motion.
	 YEA: Mr. Cox, Mr. Dorshimer, Mrs. Escott, Mrs. Ganser, Mrs. Geronikos, Mrs. Giles, Mr. Green, Mr. Newhard, Mr. Fedorcha (9) NAY: None (0)
<u>ELECTION</u> <u>OF VICE</u> <u>PRESIDENT</u>	President Fedorcha called for nominations for Vice-President of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors for a one-year term.
Nominations For Vice President	Mrs. Escott nominated Mrs. Lori H. Geronikos for Vice President of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors for a one-year term. Mrs. Giles seconded her motion.
Close Nominations	Motion made by Mr. Newhard seconded by Mrs. Escott, that the nominations for Vice President of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors be closed.
	 YEA: Mr. Cox, Mr. Dorshimer, Mrs. Escott, Mrs. Ganser, Mrs. Geronikos, Mrs. Giles, Mr. Green, Mr. Newhard, Mr. Fedorcha (9) NAY: None (0)

Lori H Geronikos- V-President	Vote on nomination of Mrs. Lori H. Geronikos as Vice President of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors for a one-year term.
	YEA: Mr. Cox, Mr. Dorshimer, Mrs. Escott, Mrs. Ganser, Mrs. Geronikos, Mrs. Giles, Mr. Green, Mr. Newhard, Mr. Fedorcha (9)
	NAY: None (0)
	Mrs. Lori H. Geronikos was unanimously declared duly elected Vice President of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors for a one-year term.
Nominations For Secretary	Mrs. Giles nominated Mrs. Jane J. Escott for Secretary of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors to fill the unexpired term of Mrs. Lori H. Geronikos. Mrs. Ganser seconded her motion. Mrs. Escott will serve in this capacity until December 2003, unless she seeks another four-year term on the board at which time her term as Board Secretary would expire on June 30, 2005.
Close Nominations	Motion made by Mr. Green seconded by Mr. Newhard, that the nominations for Secretary of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors be closed.
	 YEA: Mr. Cox, Mr. Dorshimer, Mrs. Escott, Mrs. Ganser, Mrs. Geronikos, Mrs. Giles, Mr. Green, Mr. Newhard, Mr. Fedorcha (9) NAY: None (0)
Jane J.Escott Secretary	Vote on nomination of Mrs. Jane J. Escott as Secretary of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors for a two-year term.
	 YEA: Mr. Cox, Mr. Dorshimer, Mrs. Escott, Mrs. Ganser, Mrs. Geronikos, Mrs. Giles, Mr. Green, Mr. Newhard, Mr. Fedorcha (9) NAY: None (0)
	Mrs. Jane J. Escott was unanimously declared duly elected Secretary of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors for a two-year term.
<u>SET BOARD</u> <u>MEETING</u> <u>TIMES AND</u> <u>PLACES</u>	Motion made by Mr. Dorshimer, with a second by Mrs. Escott, that the Board of Education approve the Board meeting times and places, as amended.
	 YEA: Mr. Cox, Mr. Dorshimer, Mrs. Escott, Mrs. Ganser, Mrs. Geronikos, Mrs. Giles, Mr. Green, Mr. Newhard, Mr. Fedorcha (9) NAX: None (0)
	NAY: None (0)
<u>RULES AND</u> <u>REGULA-</u> <u>TIONS</u>	As stipulated in Section 407 of the Pennsylvania School Code of 1949, as amended, all Board meetings will be conducted according to the rules and regulations approved in Northern Lehigh School District Policy #006.
	Before adjournment, Mrs. Lynn C. Sechler was presented with a gift of appreciation for her services as a member on the Northern Lehigh School District Board of Education.

ADJOURN-
MENTMotion made by Mr. Dorshimer, with a second by Mr. Newhard that the Reorganization Meeting
of the Northern Lehigh Board of School Directors be adjourned at 7:25 p.m.

 YEA: Mr. Cox, Mr. Dorshimer, Mrs. Escott, Mrs. Ganser, Mrs. Geronikos, Mrs. Giles, Mr. Green, Mr. Newhard, Mr. Fedorcha (9)
 NAY: None (0)

Respectfully submitted,

Lori H. Geronikos Secretary

ATTEST:

Gary S. Fedorcha

President